TESTIMONIALS

Your input is important to us.  Here are some testimonials from our clients:


Submit a Testimonial
  • NDIS Planning Meeting Support

    Today started out as nerve wracking, as I counted down the hours that I was to front up to the NDIS office for my Daughter's second NDIS Planning meeting.
    I knew I was in good hands though, as the wonderful powerhouse that is Sue Dymond attended the meeting with me as my Daughters advocate.
    Our first NDIS plan was disastrous, and fell short of what was needed, and had left a bad taste in my mouth, and a lot of stress.

    I was extremely well supported by Sue, prior to today's meeting, and our Pre Planning meeting was vitally important.
    Sue's knowledge and experience with the NDIS proved invaluable to me during today's meeting.
    I feel confident that this next Plan will more truly meet my daughters needs and goals.

    My sincere thanks Sue, your support today was invaluable, and you are a true friend.

    Lyn, July 2019

  • It has been very reassuring to have somebody like this to support me

    I am the mother of an adult daughter with Down syndrome and have just completed my first year as a self-managed NDIS participant. 

     I was initially reluctant to take on self-management but, with the help and encouragement from Sue Dymond and iDareU, I gradually became more confident and able to tackle the challenges it threw up. Sue has an extensive knowledge of how the NDIS works and it has been very reassuring to have somebody like this to support me. Throughout the year Sue has always made herself available to answer questions and deal with any problems, no matter how big or small. As the mother of a disabled daughter she has a deep understanding of the problems faced by carers and has a realistic and practical approach to her work – and a great sense of humour. 

     iDareU has recently assisted me with my plan review, helping me to present my case in the best way possible. I had support before, during and after the interview and, despite some complex family issues, I ended up with a plan better than I had hoped for. I would strongly recommend iDareU as a support service for carers.  

    JOY June 2019 

  • C&M your Belonging WORKSHOP

    I left there today feeling very sure that I would be doing things quite differently from now on….
    Daniel had an appointment with a podiatrist this afternoon (straight after the workshop) and I declared to him on the way that I thought he could handle the interaction with the receptionist (giving his name, etc and then dealing with the payment after & making a new appointment time).
    He did so with minimal assistance from me and, as I said to my husband this evening, the pride and sense of achievement for Daniel with this small task was so obvious!

    The other interesting aspect with this interaction was the response of the receptionist who, to be perfectly honest, I had not particularly warmed to in the past.
    She seemed to be so attuned to what I was attempting to achieve and treated Daniel with such respect &and dignity and actually seemed to be very pleased with the whole situation, herself!!!
    SUCH A HAPPY STORY!!!!
    Thanks Sharon

    Date of Posting: 25 February 2016
    Posted By: Sharon O'Shea

  • Creating & Maintaining your Belonging workshop

    Hi Sue,
    Your workshop was very good. You gave everyone the opportunity to express themselves, tell their stories.
    This is something, as you know, that us mums cannot share how we feel or have someone to listen to us, and understand what we are talking about.

    Date of Posting: 25 February 2016
    Posted By: Cathy Kasiaras

  • Today I had the absolute pleasure of meeting Sue Dymond.

    I attended one of her Workshops regarding the NDIS and wow what an amazing Workshop! This Workshop I would recommend to anyone who may have any involvement with the up and coming NDIS. I now feel very positive, excited and empowered about the NDIS.
    Sue is incredible I absolutely love her spirit and passion. Highly recommended

    Date of Posting: 18 June 2016
    Posted By: Fiona Goodman
    Carer with ASD child, CHIRNSIDE PARK

  • Oh no, the NDIS!

    Before attending the Imagine Better Workshop I felt:
    Oh no the NDIS… another thing to worry about and think about, I’ll just ignore it, put it on the back burner it will sort itself out, NOT. Oh no roll out, poop, what do I have to do its all too hard!
    When I left the Imagine Better Workshop I felt:
    Yay for iDareU. It was a very down to earth, practical presentation of how to prepare for the implementation of the NDIS. A step by step overview of the process by a presenter who walks in our shoes. That was really significant for me. Sue is a carer not a bureaucrat.
    As a result, I have been able to:
    CALM DOWN, review the notes and think about what we need to do before the NDIS goes live in my area. I am also committed to attending any future workshops.
    I would highly recommend this workshop to anyone who feels overwhelmed with just the thought of NDIS. Make a start and take one step at a time.

    28 June 2016
    Posted By: Sue Lovegrave
    Carer

  • Thanks for the info and the workshop

    Hi Sue,
    Thanks for the info and the workshop which I really enjoyed. I passed on the information that I received to several people who were unable to attend. I think they are a little more at ease about the NDIS now,

    Thanks once again, Alison

    28 June 2016
    Posted By: Alison
    Mornington

  • I left there today feeling very sure that I would be doing things quite differently from now on….

    Daniel had an appointment with a podiatrist this afternoon (straight after the workshop) and I declared to him on the way that I thought he could handle the interaction with the receptionist (giving his name, etc and then dealing with the payment after & making a new appointment time).
    He did so with minimal assistance from me and, as I said to my husband this evening, the pride and sense of achievement for Daniel with this small task was so obvious!
    The other interesting aspect with this interaction was the response of the receptionist who, to be perfectly honest, I had not particularly warmed to in the past.
    She seemed to be so attuned to what I was attempting to achieve and treated Daniel with such respect &and dignity and actually seemed to be very pleased with the whole situation, herself!!!
    SUCH A HAPPY STORY!!!!

    Date of Posting: 28 June 2016
    Posted By: Sharon

  • I would highly recommend this workshop to any parent and carer

    Before attending the Imagine Better workshop, I felt extremely lost on what NDIS is all about and was not sure that my daughter is eligible for NDIS even though she is currently on Future For Young Adults funding (post- secondary school).
    When I left this workshop I felt very confident on what NDIS is, it’s rollout schedule, how it impacts my daughter and the ability for us – as parent and carer – to use NDIS funding to develop her further. We are also now sure about how FFYA will roll-over to NDIS.
    We are also very much empowered and encouraged by Sue to proactively plan for our daughter’s future and not rely on organizations or others .
    As a result of this workshop I have been able to:
    • Understand NDIS and the language around it.
    • Start looking at engaging a Case Manager to help with obtaining further assistance for my daughter & using language that is appropriate to maximize success.
    • Connect with other people and organizations that are able to provide further resources and assistance.
    Be persistent with officialdom – not taking “no” for an answer!
    I would highly recommend this workshop to any parent and carer who:
    1.) needs to know about NDIS and how it relates to their child / disabled adult
    2.) feels down and is unsure on how to handle their child’s disability and plan for the future.

    Date of Posting: 28 June 2016
    Posted By: Joyce & Beng Chew

  • Imagine Better & Goal Setting Workshops

    As a result of attending the Imagine Better & Goal Setting workshops I have been able to:

    • Be prepared for my meeting with an NDIA planner. I felt empowered to stand up for the rights of my son.
    • I was able to ask specialists for supporting letters and suggest what they needed to include in such letters to support my son’s plan.
    • Knowledge and preparation were the key elements to get the best possible support plan for my son.
    • I was able to achieve a very good outcome for my son.
    • We had a face to face meeting with a planner.
    • I gave the planner all my support letters and my filled out iDareU NDIS checklist that clearly stated where my son’s needs were.
    • My son is now in the NDIS with a better package than he had before .

    I would highly recommend this workshop to anyone who wants for find out about the NDIS and the process you need to go through to help your family member get the best possible outcome from the NDIA planner.

    Sue is: supportive, shares great information, and talks in language that is easy to understand. She helps you navigate the core jargon that you need to understand and use. She helps people with the transition into the NDIS. I can’t thank her enough and highly recommend her workshops.

    Heather Mathews - June 2017
    A happy participant of iDareU workshops, Melbourne

  • Thank You

    Thank you again iDareU for sharing a wealth of information and support. At the Carers Toolbox workshop on Saturday at YourDNA, I felt overwhelmed to discover how many resources there are out there! Your workshops are amazing, warm, fun, generous and supportive. I am so thankful to have found you!

    Lyn Krejci - July 2017
    I am Mum/Carer to my 33 year old Daughter Jacqui, Mooroolbark

  • Information and Guidance

    Before coming to this workshop I was totally confused and did not understand a lot of the things that my son was entitled to as a child with a disability.
    I left this workshop feeling more informed about the services and availability of services for people with disabilities.
    Sue gave me information and guidance towards accessing the services that are available for people with disabilities
    I would highly recommend a workshop run by Sue for anyone who needs to access the NDIS or has a person with a disability as the information she provided to me was very informative and it was a very relaxed and well run workshop. I look forward to receiving further guidance at the next workshop I attend by Sue.

    Maureen Owen - July 2017
    Carer who attended the Carers Tool Kit workshop

  • I know it’s late, but I just wanted to thank you.

    Tomorrow I'm getting a call from the NDIS, to let me know who my planner is. As we have mega complexities in our life, we need a senior planner with lots of experience in disability.
    I am completely overwhelmed and we are at crisis point.
    Apparently someone is coming out next week and I was in a tail spin, as I didn't have any notes in place for the plan.
    I randomly dug out a notebook from the cupboard and saw it was the iDareU NDIS workbook I got from your workshop.
    Basically it covered so many things I needed that I have now drafted a blueprint to work off and feel more empowered and less stressed.
    So I just wanted to say THANK-YOU!!!

    Emma Gierschick - July 2017
    Carer who attended Imagine Better workshop

  • IdareU 1 on 1 testimonial

    Having a one on one pre-planning meeting before getting my N.D.I.S plan done was invaluable and prepared me for the questions and process.

    Sue gave me lots of tips to ensure that I was as organised as possible and would show that I had given much thought to what supports were needed and these were justified.

    Some of the questions asked during the meeting were very ambiguous and unclear - luckily Sue came with me to the meeting and gave clarification where needed.

    I have NO DOUBT that without this preparation and support that it would have been a very different outcome and I would have ended up with minimal funding that was insufficient to meet my needs. My advice is to take advantage of the knowledge that Sue has and information that she can share with you in an individual presentation.

    In my experience, it is worth EVERY cent to receive a positive outcome and a plan that provides the support and services that you need in order to achieve a fulfilling life.

    Tracey Jackson - June 2018

  • 1 on 1 Testimonial

    I am the mother of a 27yr old daughter with an intellectual disability. Having heard so many horror stories about the NDIS process, I decided to employ a professional to guide me through the maze of planning. I chose Sue Dymond from iDareU. Sue is a single mum with sole care of her 26yr old daughter with Down syndrome, so she had a working knowledge of the needs and aspirations for my myself and my daughter.

    Sue met with me before my planning meeting to familiarise herself with our family and social situation, and to get a feel for the outcomes we wanted. What particularly impressed me at this point was Sue’s insistence on aiming high; on not being afraid to ask for all we needed. I tend to put my head in the sand when it comes to my daughter’s future, but Sue was adamant about starting to address possible future needs. She also made me see that, as parents of special needs children, we often accept as normal the work we do for them. Time and again she would ask “did you do this for your other daughter when she was 27?” Inevitably, the answer was no.

    I had two planning meetings and Sue was present at both taking an active role as my advocate and providing much needed moral support. Throughout, she was open, honest and realistic and not afraid to argue my case! I was blown away by her knowledge of how the system works and its possible pitfalls.

    Sue is a genuinely caring person who will fight for what she thinks is right. I cannot recommend her highly enough. The money I paid Sue was a great investment; not only did I get the plan I wanted, I got great support and peace of mind.

    Chris Pool - July 2018

  • I have an acquired brain injury, not an intellectual disability.

    Just recently I was interested in making an NDIS application and I wished to have someone to advise me on how to best fill out the paperwork so I asked a disability self-advocate and he recommended Sue Dymond, a lady not heavily involved in ABI self-advocacy I don't think.
    Nevertheless I took up his recommendation and I'm so glad I did. My application was successful; I scanned and emailed a copy of my completed application form and Sue suggested appropriate alterations and the correct lingo to use.
    Unlike a leading intellectual disability organisation, iDareU and Sue Dymond in particular adhere to the mission statement and cater for ALL disabled people.

    Peta Ferguson - November 2018

  • Do you need some NDIS Support?

    I just wanted to say that if anyone is feeling overwhelmed with figuring out their NDIS plan and needs a hand to hold, I can't recommend Sue Dymond from iDareU enough.

    She helped me create really great plans for my two kids, helped me write them in the right language (so they wouldn't get rejected) and sort out all the supporting information, she even came with me to my planning meetings with the NDIS people (we had a very prickly/aggressive co-ordinator and Sue was amazing!)and as a result of all of her support, we got our plans approved, they are great plans and it all happened in record time.

    She even spent time with me afterwards we got the money helping me set up my bank account and my NDIS pages on MyGov and talked me through self-management. The whole thing cost me practically nothing and she made the whole process easy. She can even recommend providers and services, if you are trying to find people.

    Please, if you are struggling, don't try and do it all yourself, particularly if you are the mum of more than one kids on the spectrum - contact Sue from www.iDareU.org.au - she'll have you sorted in no time.

    And just in case you are wondering - I am a satisfied mamma, not a sales rep, I just really appreciate all the support I just got and wanted to share it in case it helps someone else.

    Kat - April 2019

  • The Marsham Family 2018

    After attending an iDareU workshop I walked away feeling incredibly confident to deal with a disability scheme that was lacking a lot of confidence! Sue gave us all great tips, and many amazing connections to get us pre plan ready.

    Unfortunately we had a horrific experience with the NDIS planning meeting and I couldn’t believe my luck when I saw Sue was now offering 1:1 support! A desperately emailed Sue who responded with such sincere concern, love and support and most amazingly ACTION! Sue was my savior while I was falling apart. She sat with me pulling apart our plan and contacted the appropriate people, speaking on my behalf when I could no longer talk and DEMANDING answers, change and immediate support.

    Sue is such a strong advocate with an incredible knowledge of the disability sector and the NDIS. Sue attended our face to face review and advocated for our entire family and I can honestly say I would not have got through this without her! Sue and iDareU are an invaluable service that I am so grateful to be a member of and highly recommend to you all! Sue was worth her weight in gold and it shows in how successful our new NDIS plan is.

    There are not enough thank you’s that can be said to show how grateful we are!